Small image of Puss in Boots Elizabeth Nesbitt Room graphic

Preservation/Rare Books Pathfinder 
Index of Terms

Maroon bar


Go to the Index of Titles


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Advertisement -- Pages devoted to promoting a book, bookseller, or publisher; may precede or follow the text.
 
Example of 'Advertisement'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
History of Little Jack (1797 edition), by Thomas Day
Dimunitive Collection - JF
An advertisement for this book follows the title page (sig. A3); there is also a list of additional books from the publisher following the story (sig. I3).


Aquatint -- An intaglio printing process using plates grounded with powdered resin before etching. 
 
Example of 'Aquatint'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Daphnis and Chloe, by Longus 1972
Adult Collection - PA 4229 L8E5
See frontispiece (only originally struck aquatint in this book - - others are reproductions). 


Bevelled Boards -- Boards have been cut at a slanting angle before covering material has been put on.
Example of 'Bevelled Boards'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Parables from Nature, by Mrs. Alfred Gatty; London: Bell and Daldy, 1867
Juvenile Collection - 828 G23p
See edges of boards (cover, front and back).

Old Old Fairy Tales, ed. by Mrs. Valentine, 1889
Juvenile Collection - 398.21 V157
See edges of boards (cover, front and back).


Blind Tooling -- Decoration tooled on a binding without any use of gold or coloring.
 
Example of 'Blind Tooling'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Parables from Nature, by Mrs. Alfred Gatty; London: Bell and Daldy, 1867
Juvenile Collection - 828 G23p
See back cover.


Catchword -- Word below last line of text, indicating first word of following page. 
 
Example of 'Catchword' Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
History of Little Jack, by Thomas Day
Diminutive Collection - JF

Paul et Virginie, by Jacques-Bernardin-Henri De Saint-Pierre 
Adult Collection - Z276 S3 
Note p.27 has separate catchwords for text and footnotes.

Of the Laws of Ecclesiastical Politie, by Richard Hooker
Over Double-Folio Shelves


Chapbook -- Small pamphlets sold by street pedlars or "chapmen." 
 
Example of 'Chapbook'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Industry and Sloth
Juvenile Collection - 398.5075 I42
The Nesbitt Room has an extensive collection of chapbooks; see librarian for additional examples.


Chromolithograph -- Color illustration using a planographic (neither relief or etched) method; color lithograph. See also: Lithography
 
Example of 'Chromolithograph'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Old Old Fairy Tales, ed. by Mrs. Valentine 1889 
Juvenile Collection - 398.21 V157
See illustration opposite title page.


Colophon -- Statement at the end of a book providing printing and public information.
 
Example of 'Colophon'

Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Daphnis and Chloe, by Longus 1972 
Adult Collection - PA4229 L8E5 
Opposite page 152.

Tirant lo Blanc, by Joannot Martorell 
Adult Collection - fB241 M3 1490a 
Original 1490 colophon on Z5, verso; colophon for facsimile edition on Z6, recto. 


Deckle Edge -- Refers to the uneven edge left by the deckle frame in the paper making process; a book which has not been trimmed has a deckle edge.
 
Example of 'Deckle Edge'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Historic Printing Types, by Theo L. DeVinne 
Adult Collection - Z250 D495 
Note the difference between bottom and fore edges (deckle) and the top edge (trimmed and gilt). 

Tirant lo Blanc, by Joannot Martorell 
Adult Collection - fB241 M3 1490a
Note the difference between bottom and fore edges (deckle) and the top edge (trimmed and gilt). 


Dentelle -- A decorative pattern tooled onto inside edge of boards; usually gilt.
Example of 'Dentelle'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Tales From Shakespeare, by Charles and Mary Lamb 1963 
Juvenile Collection - 822.33 HL21t 

Paul et Virginie, by Jacques-Bernardin-Henri De Saint-Pierre 
Adult Collection - Z276 S3 


Etching -- An intaglio printing method using acid to etch lines in a metal plate, usually copper.
 
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
[Collection de la Ville], by Potemont. 


Foliation -- Numbering by leaves (not to be confused with pagination, or numbering by pages).
 
Example of 'Foliation'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
[two leaves from a Latin liturgical text]
Single Leaf Collection #30 
See arabic numerals after headlines (167, 169).


Fore-edge Painting -- Decorative painting of the fore-edge of a book; may be visible when book is closed, or may require fanning leaves to reveal painting under gilt edges.
 
Example of 'Fore-edge Painting'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Paul et Virginie, by Jacques-Bernardin-Henri De Saint-Pierre 
Adult Collection - Z276 S3 
Examine fore-edge while fanning pages; painting can only be seen from one direction.


Foxing -- Brown spots on aging paper, possibly caused by micro-organisms.
 
Example of 'Foxing'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Parables from Nature, by Mrs. Alfred Gatty London; Bell and Daldy 1867 
Juvenile Collection - 828 G23p 
See brown spots on end papers. 

Paul et Virginie, by Jacques-Bernardin-Henri De Saint-Pierre 
Adult Collection - Z276 S3 
See top of title page. 

Tirant lo Blanc, by Joannot Matorell 
Adult Collection - fB241 M3 1490a 
See end papers.


Gilt Edge -- Application of gold to trimmed edges.
 
Example of 'Gilt Edge'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Historic Printing Types, by Theo L. DeVinne 
Adult Collection - Z250 D495 
Only top edge of this book is gilt; compare with fore and bottom edges.

Masterman Ready: or the Wreck of the "Pacific", by Frederick Marryat 1898 
Juvenile Collection - JF 
Only top edge of this book is gilt; compare with fore and bottom edges.

Parables from Nature, by Mrs. Alfred Gatty London; Bell and Daldy 1867 
Juvenile Collection - 828 G23p 
All edges gilt.


Gold Tooling -- Decorative application of gold leaf on bindings.
 
Example of 'Gold Tooling'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Masterman Ready: or the Wreck of the "Pacific", by Frederick Marryat 1898 
Juvenile Collection - JF 
See cover (front and Back) and spine. 

Parables from Nature, by Mrs. Alfred Gatty London; Bell and Daldy 1867 
Juvenile Collection - 828 G23p 
See front cover and spine. 

Tales from Shakespeare, by Charles and Mary Lamb 1963 
Juvenile Collection - 822.33 HL218t 
See cover (front and back), spine and dentelles.

Paul et Virginie, by Jacques-Bernardin-Henri De Saint-Pierre 
Adult Collection - Z276 S3


Guide Letters -- Small letters printed as markers for later illumination, rubrication, or otherwise decorated capital. See also: Illumination and Rubrication
 
Example of 'Guide Letters'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
[Biblia Latina]

Tirant lo Blanc, by Joannot Matorell 
Adult Collection - fB241 M3 1490a 
Verso of A1, first page of text.


Half Bound -- Bound with leather covering spine and corners, each covering less than one third of boards. See also: Quarter Bound and Three Quarter Bound
 
Example of 'Half Bound'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Of the Laws of Ecclesiastical Politie, by Richard Hooker 
Over Double-Folio Shelves 


Historiated Borders -- Border design depicting humans and animals.
 
Example of 'Historiated Borders'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
[incipit "in honore tuo"] 
Single Leaf Collection #23 

[two leaves from a Latin liturgical text] 
Single Leaf Collection #30 

[incipit "moniu phibe de mafo"] 
Single Leaf Collection #26


Hornbook -- Alphabet and numbers printed and mounted to a small paddle shaped piece of material, usually wood.
 
Example of 'Hornbook'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Hornbook Specimens (facsimiles) 
099 T913h Suppl. 


Illumination -- Application of gold or silver to a leaf; usually found on manuscripts. See also: Guide Letters and Rubrication
 
Example of 'Illumination'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
[leaf from a Latin prayer book] 
Single Leaf Collection #25 

[leaf from a Farsi text] 
Single Leaf Collection #27


India Paper -- An exceptionally thin and strong paper with origins in Asia.
 
Example of 'India Paper'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
[leaf from a Farsi text] 
Single Leaf Collection #27 


Laid Marks -- Lines in paper made by wire mesh of a paper making frame. Thicker lines are "chain lines," while thinner, more closely spaced lines are "wire lines." Most easily seen when held up to light.
 
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Daphnis and Chloe, by Longus
Adult Collection - PA4229 L8E5 1972 

Historic Printing Types, by Theo L. DeVinne 
Adult Collection - Z250 D495 

{incipit "in honore tuo"} 
Single Leaf Collection #23


Limited Edition -- An edition having only a limited number of copies printed; should have a statement identifying this number.
 
Example of 'Limited Edition'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Daphnis and Chloe, by Longus 
Adult Collection - PA4229 L8E5 1972 
See colophon (opposite p. 152). 


Line Engraving -- An intaglio printing method using a polished metal plate engraved with a sharpened steel point.
 
Example of 'Line Engraving'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Of the Laws of Ecclesiastical Politie, by Richard Hooker 
Over Double-Folio Shelves
See title page.


Lithography -- A planographic (neither relief or etched) printing process using an oil-based ink with an oil-based drawing against a water coated background. See also: Chromolithograph
 
Example of 'Lithography'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Lithography and Lithographers: Some Chapters in the History of the Art, by Joseph Pennell. 
Adult Collection - ff NE2430 P4 
Illustrated with lithographs throughout book.


Manuscript -- Any text written or reproduced by hand, rather than mechanical means.
 
Example of 'Manuscript'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
[leaf from a Latin prayer book] 
Single Leaf Collection #25 
Note variance in darkness of one stylus stroke to another, also line ruling in red. 

[leaf from a Farsi text] 
Single Leaf Collection #27 

[incipit "Angeli Domini";"Supero Omnia"] 
Single Leaf Collection #13 & #14 

[manuscript from a Latin breviary]
Single Leaf Collection #33


Marbled Paper -- Decorative paper made by floating paper over dyes suspended in liquid.
 
Example of 'Marbled Paper'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Masterman Ready: or the Wreck of the "Pacific", by Frederick Marryat 1898
Juvenile Collection - JF
See cover and endpapers.

Paul et Virginie, by Jacques-Bernardin-Henri De Saint-Pierre 
Adult Collection - Z276 S3 
See front and back endpapers. 

Of the Laws of Ecclesiastical Politie, by Richard Hooker 
Adult Collection - Over double-Folio Shelves 
See cover (front and back).


Marginalia -- Hand written notes in margins; not to be confused with Shoulder notes, which are printed text. See also: Shoulder Notes
 
Example of 'Marginalia'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Of the Laws of Ecclesiastical Politie, by Richard Hooker 
Adult Collection - Over Double-Folio Shelves 
Compare verso of signature B (marginalia) with recto of B2 (shoulder notes). 

[Bucolicoru Aeglora Prima] 
Single Leaf Collection #29 


Parchment -- Animal skins, usually sheep or goat, used more for manuscript than printing; also used for binding. Compare with smoother, whiter, Vellum.
 
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
[leaf from a Latin Prayer book] 
Single Leaf Collection #25 

[incipit "Angeli Domini"; "Supero Omnia"] 
Single Leaf Collection #13 & #14 

[manuscript from a Latin breviary] 
Single Leaf Collection #33


Photogravure -- A photomechanical illustration process using an intaglio printing method.
 
Example of 'Photogravure'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Masterman Ready: or the Wreck of the "Pacific", by Frederick Marryat 1898 
Juvenile Collection - JF 
See illustration opposite title page.


Prickings -- Small equidistant holes used to mark length of lines and margins on vellum and parchment.
 
Example of 'Prickings'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
[incipit "Angeli Domini"; "Supero Omnia"] 
Single Leaf Collection #13 & #14 


Printer's Device -- Mark or symbol used to identify printer. See also: Publisher's Device
 
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:

Printer's Marks, by William Roberts 1893 
Adult Collection - Z235 R64 
See page 262 for printer of this book; also note examples cited as subjects of the book.


Publisher's Device -- Mark or symbol identifying publisher. See also: Printer's Device
 
Example of 'Publisher's Device'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Parables from Nature, by Mrs. Alfred Gatty London; Bell and Daldy 1867 
Juvenile Collection - 828 G23p 
See title page for Bell & Daldy's device (See also Z235 R64, Printer's Marks, by William Roberts, published by Bell & Sons - - has later version of same device). 

Printer's Marks, by William Roberts 
Adult Collection - Z235 R64 


Quarter Bound -- Bound with leather covering spine only. See also: Three Quarter Bound and Half Bound
 
Example of 'Quarter Bound'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Daphnis and Chloe, by Longus 1972 
Adult Collection - PA4229 L8E5 
Only spine is leather, meeting Stokes' definition of quarter bound. Note: colophon disagrees, stating that binding is "in half leather."


Raised Bands -- Raised lines across spine of a book; originally caused by binding cords, but usually only decorative in modern bindings.
 
Example of 'Raised Bands'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Tales From Shakespeare, by Charles and Mary Lamb 1963 
Juvenile Collection - Ji 822.33 HL218t 

Of the Laws of Ecclesiastical Politie, by Richard Hooker 
Over Double-Folio Shelves 

Masterman Ready; or the Wreck of the "Pacific", by Fredrick Marryat 1898 
Juvenile Collection - JF


Rubrication -- Originally writing or decoration in red, but may refer to application of any color other than gold and silver. See also: Guide Letters and Illumination
 
Example of 'Rubrication'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
[leaf from a Latin prayer book] 
Single Leaf Collection #25 

[incipit "in honore tuo"] 
Single Leaf Collection #23 

[two leaves from a Latin liturgical text] 
Single Leaf Collection #30 

[incipit "Angeli Domini"; "Supero Omnia"] 
Single Leaf Collection #13 & #14 

[manuscript from a Latin breviary] 
Single Leaf Collection #33


Shoulder Notes -- Commentary printed around or beside principal text. See also: Marginalia
 
Example of 'Shoulder Notes'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Of the Laws of Ecclesiastical Politie, by Richard Hooker 
Over Double-Folio Shelves 
Compare verso of signature B (marginalia) with recto of B2 (shoulder notes). 

[Bucolicoru Aeglora Prima] 
Single Leaf Collection #29


Signatures -- Symbols, letters or figures, used to indicate folding and arrangement of leaves before binding.
 
Example of 'Signatures'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
History of Little Jack (1797 edition), by Thomas Daly 
Diminutive Collection - JF 
See "A3" on first page of advertisement. 

Paul et Virginie, by Jacques-Bernardin-Henri De Saint-Pierre 
Adult Collection - Z276 S3 
See "C" on p.17, "c2" on p.19, "C3" on p.121, etc. 

Old Old Fairy Tales, ed. by Mrs. Valentine 
Juvenile Collection - 398.21 V157 

Of the Laws of Ecclesiastical Politie, by Richard Hooker 
Over Double-Folio Shelves


Signed Edition -- Edition bearing the signature of the author or illustrator.
 
Example of 'Signed Edition'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Daphnis and Chloe, by Longus 1972 
Adult Collection - PA4229 L8E5 
Signed by illustrator below colophon (opposite p.152)


Three Quarter Bound -- Bound with leather covering spine and corners, each covering approximately one third of boards. See also: Quarter Bound and Half Bound
 
Example of 'Three Quarter Bound'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Masterman Ready: of the Wreck of the "Pacific", by Frederick Marryat 1898 
Juvenile Collection - JF 
Note ratio of leather to paper on boards; compare to Quarter Half Bound books.


Unopened -- After the full sheets of paper used in printing are folded for binding, the fold must be cut open to allow reading; if this has not been done, the book is unopened.
 
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Masterman Ready: or the Wreck of the "Pacific", by Frederick Marryat 1898 
Juvenile Collection - JF 
See fore edge of pages 9-12, 13-16, etc.

Tirant lo Blanc, by Joannot Matorell 
Adult Collection - fB241 M3 1490a 
See top edges, A2 and A3; A5 and A6; etc.


Vellum -- Calf skin used more for manuscripts than for printing; also used for binding. Compare with more coarsely textured Parchment.
 
Example of 'Vellum'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:

[incipit "moniu phibe de mafo"] 
Single Leaf Collection #26


Watermark-- Mark made in papermaking process by wire design attached to the papermaker's frame. Identifies papermaker. Most easily seen when held up to light.
 
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:
Historic Printing Types, by Theo L. Devinne 
Adult Collection - Z250 D495 
See binding edge of half title page. 

[leaf from a Farsi text] 
Single Leaf Collection #27 

[headline "Die Cronica Van Der Hilliger"] 
Single Leaf Collection #31


Wood Cuts-- Illustration created by carving design in relief on a wood block.
 
Example of 'Woodcuts'
Examples from the Nesbitt Room:

Old Old Fairy Tales, ed. by Mrs. Valentine 1889 
Juvenile Collection - 398.21 V157 
See pp. xi-xii for list of wood engravings. 

[incipit "in honore tuo"] 
Single Leaf Collection #23 

[Bucolicoru Aeglora Prima] 
Single Leaf Collection #29 

[headlline "Die Cronica Van Der Hillger"] 
Single Leaf Collection #31


| Elizabeth Nesbitt Room Pathfinder | Elizabeth Nesbitt Room |