There are countless sources for business statistics. These are just a few
of the key resources for business statistics.
If you are looking for financial statistics for a specific company, refer
to the Sources for Corporate Financial Data
page.
If you are looking for industry statistics, also refer to the Industry Resources page.
For additional sources, use the indexes listed here or ask a librarian.
-
Research Databases*:
-
(*Please note: research databases are restricted to current students, staff, and faculty at the University of Pittsburgh. If you are using an off-campus computer, you must log in here in order to access these licensed resources.)
-
-
FedStats: An index to statistics-related Internet sites maintained by U.S. Government agencies.
-
-
Historical Statistics of the United States This information comes from the original print source, a supplement to Statistical Abstract of the United States provides a variety of statistics from colonial times to 1970.
Also available in print at HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference Desk. (C 3.134/2:H63/789-970)
- Business Library - Reference (HA202 B87)
GSPIA/ECONOMICS LIBRARY - Reference. (HA202 B87)
Statistical Abstract of the United States: Probably the single most important source for U.S. statistics. Hundreds of tables are included, many related to business issues. It also acts as an index since source notes can lead you to more extensive and/or detailed data sources.
(This resource is not restricted to Pitt-affliated users, and is available to the public on the Internet.)
Also available in print:
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference HA 202.A385s
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference Desk. (C 3.134:999)
-
- Stat-USA: State of the Nation provides current and historical economic/financial press releases and economic/business data. Globus & National Trade Data Bank provides U.S. import/export data and international market research reports. (Note: Although this is a subscription service, some of the materials included in State of the Nation are available freely on the Internet. Use the FedStats site listed below to find such sites.)
-
-
-
-
Statistical (Lexis-Nexis): provides online access to ASI, SRI, and IIS. ASI (American
Statistics Index) indexes statistical data from the U.S. Government.
SRI (Statistical Reference Index) indexes statistical information from
American sources outside the U.S. Government. IIS (Index to
International Statistics) covers statistics published by international
intergovernmental organizations.
-
-
-
Print Sources:
Business Library Resource (HA202 A385s)
- ENGINEERING LIBRARY - Reference. (HA202 A385s)
GSPIA/ECONOMICS LIBRARY - Reference. (HA202 A385s)
-
Business Statistics of the United States: Contains about 2,000 economic and business time series, predominantly from federal government sources. Annual data included for 1968 through 1996 and monthly data for 1993 through 1996.
BUSINESS LIBRARY- Reference (HC101 A13122)
- HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference Desk. (HC101 A13122)
GSPIA/ECONOMICS LIBRARY - Reference. (HC101 A13122)
Standard & Poor's Statistical Service: Contains data on S&P Stock Price Indexes as well as statistics on banking and finance, labor and earnings, cost of living, and numerous industries. Over thirty years of data available.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference
Statistics Sources: An alphabetically arranged index to current sources of statistics on over 20,000 subjects and locations. Many business topics are included.
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference Desk. (Z7551 S84)
- BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference Desk (Z7551 S84) Gespia/Economics - Reference Desk (Z7551 S84)
(*Please note: research databases are restricted to current students, staff, and faculty at the University of Pittsburgh. If you are using an off-campus computer, you must log in here in order to access these licensed resources.)
|