|
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes are four-digit codes
used to identify an industry.
The
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is gradually
replacing the SIC system. The NAICS system uses six-digit codes to
identify an industry. The first five digits are standardized in the United
States, Canada, and Mexico.
Many sources provide industry information based on these codes. Also, most
directories that index companies by industry use SIC and/or NAICS codes.
Most resources that utilize these codes provide their own index to the
codes. There are also detailed guides specific to SIC or NAICS codes as
well as correspondence tables (see below). If you are unable to determine
the appropriate SIC code for an industry but know a company that is part
of that industry, look up a company profile to
see what codes are assigned to that company.
NOTE: The codes are standardized to the four or six digit level.
Some sources will add additional digits to further specify an industry.
These additional digits may or may not be uniform in different sources.
NOTE: The codes themselves are an accepted standard, but the
assigning of codes to companies is not centralized or standardized. Each
source will assign codes based upon how the publisher/producer interprets
what the company does and upon which industries of a large conglomerate
are considered the most important. Thus different sources often list
varying codes for a particular company.
Sources for Determining SIC and NAICS Codes
Publicly available websites provide information on SIC and NAICS codes:
- U.S. Census Bureau: provides a list of NAICS codes
- NAICS Association: Provides a search tool to find NAICS and SIC codes.
-
OSHA SIC Manual: from the United States Dept. of Labor. It is a searchable version of the SIC Manual.
-
Many of the research databases* provide SIC and NAICS codes:
- (*please note: research databases are restricted to current students, staff, and faculty at the university of Pittsburgh. If you are using an off-campus computer, you must log in here in order to access these licensed resources.)
-
- Business and Company Resource Center: Provides NAICS and SIC codes.
-
Business Source Premier:provides the primary NAICS codes.
- Academic Lexis-Nexis: provides information on primary and secondary SIC and NAICS codes.
Mergent Online: provides primary SIC and NAICS codes
Several print sources can also be used to determine SIC and NAICS codes.
Standard Industrial Classification Manual
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference (HF1042 A55)
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (PrEx 2.6/2: In27/987)
North American Industry Classification System: The official manual.
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (PrEx2.6/2 IN 27/997)
BUSINESS LIBRARY - (HF1041 .N67)
GSPIA/ECONOMICS LIBRARY - Reference (HF1041 .N67)
Correspondence/Conversion Tables:
Correspondence Tables
from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Additional Resources on NAICS and SIC Codes:
An Unofficial Clearinghouse
Concerning NAICS
NAICS Association
(*Please note: research databases are restricted to current students, staff, and faculty at the university of Pittsburgh. If you are using an off-campus computer, you must log in here in order to access these licensed resources.)
|