These directories cover the Pittsburgh area and/or the state of Pennsylvania. In many cases they will be more inclusive than many of the databases, and thus are particularly useful in finding information on small local companies. If you are researching a local public company, refer to the Financial Information page for more resources.
Search the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette through the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (Public library card required). The CLP website provides information on how to register for a library card
Academic Lexis-Nexis* - Limited text of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, The Pittsburgh Tribune Review, and other Pennsylvania periodicals
Free Online resources
Pittsburgh Business Times - Online version of Pittsburgh Business Times, provides latest business news, updated throughout the day, as well as the week's top stories from Pittsburgh Business Times and other popular features from the print edition
Pittsburgh Today - Pittsburgh Today highlights key indicators for understanding the Pittsburgh region and compares the region to other areas of the country on the topics of arts, demographics, economy, education, environment, government, health, housing, public safety and transportation
Pittsburgh Economic Quarterly - A product of our Urban and Regional Analysis Program, this resources provides coverage of economic conditions and changes in the Pittsburgh regional economy
Pittsburgh Technology Council State of the Industry Report - Allows readers to monitor the contributions technology companies are making to southwestern Pennsylvania’s economy by annually compiling the latest growth numbers from county, state and federal sources
Economic Reports from PNC - Provides analysis and forecasts of key economic and financial trends in the 26 major market areas within PNC's core retail area
ThomasNet - Online access to the Thomas Register of American Manufacturers. Sourcing information on industrial products and services, including supplier catalogs and CAD drawings
Books from the Reference Collection
Pittsburgh Business Times Book of Lists
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference (HC107.P42 P4932)
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (f HC107.P42 P4932) (latest edition at reference desk.)
D&B’s Regional Business Directory
Provides basic facts on the largest 20,000 company locations by number of employees in the Pittsburgh area (13 counties of southwestern Pennsylvania and 2 counties in the Maryland panhandle). Arranged geographically with SIC Code and alphabetic indexes. A Business Rankings section ranks the top 1,000.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference (HC107 P7P4933)
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HC107 P7P4933)
Greater Allegheny Industrial Buying Guide (Regional industrial buying guide, Greater Allegheny)
Includes industrial manufacturers and suppliers in the Greater Allegheny Region which covers western Pennsylvania, West Virginia, northern Maryland, and a small portion of northeast Ohio. Information on companies is very limited, but this is an excellent source for finding manufacturers or suppliers of specific products or industrial services.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference (HF3161.P4 G73)
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HF3161.P4 G73)
Harris Pennsylvania Industrial Directory
Provides basic facts on over 20,000 manufacturing and industrial companies and facilities in Pennsylvania. There is no size limitation, so this source is comprehensive for industrial companies. Arranged geographically with alphabetic, SIC Code, and product/service indexes.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference (HC107 P4A5)
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HC107 P4A5)
Pittsburgh Business Directory
Provides over 1300 public, private, nonprofit, subsidiary, and other company profiles. The focus is on businesses with over 35 employees in the Pittsburgh metropolitan area, encompassing Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Butler, Fayette, Washington, and Westmoreland Counties. Includes geographic and SIC Code indexes.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference (HF5068.P56 L48)
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference Desk (HF5068.P56 L48)
SMC Classified Directory of Products and Services
Includes name, address, phone, contact person, and type of business for the 5000 members of SMC (formerly Smaller Manufacturers Council), based in Pittsburgh.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference (HD2346 U52P46)
PA Manufacturers Register
BUSINESS LIBRARY – Reference (HD9727.P4 P429)
(*Please note: research databases are restricted to current students, staff, and faculty at the University of Pittsburgh. If you are using an off-campus computer, you must log in here in order to access these licensed resources.)