www.pitt.edu
ULS HomeZoom!PittCatAsk Us

 Business News Resources



These resources will help you find business-related periodical and newspaper articles. Some of the databases are updated on a daily basis and can be used for current awareness by providing this week's, or even today's, business news. For additional current awareness sources try the internet resources page for business-related newswire and headline services.

Articles from newspapers, business magazines, trade journals, and business research journals can provide extensive information on companies, such as company histories, advertising techniques, new ventures, marketing programs, and biographical profiles of key executives, and more. Articles may also be the only way to locate information on small, private companies, or on subsidiaries of publicly-held companies.

Articles can also provide industry overviews. In addition, news articles related to an industry can supplement the overviews or data found in general internet resources. If general industry information was not found, news articles can collectively provide an overview of the industry.

These same resources can be used to find news and research articles on virtually any topic in business or management.


Research databases* that provide business news

(*Please note: research databases are for current students, staff, and faculty at the University of Pittsburgh. If you are at an off-campus computer, you must log in here to be able to use these licensed resources.)

Academic Lexis-Nexis

The vast majority of the titles are available in full text, with a limited number available in abstract form. The service covers newspapers, magazines, and wire services. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Business & Company Resource Center: includes articles on analyzing company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Provides access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings.

Business Source Premier

This collection of popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications will help you to stay abreast of the latest global business developments. Business Source Premier offers coverage of such topics as accounting, banking, finance, international business, management, marketing, real estate, regional studies, sales, trade and technology.

National Newspapers:  
This database contains full text articles from key newspapers including the Wall Street Journal.
 
Regional Business News Provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications.

Print sources

Wall Street Journal Index: Is widely acclaimed as the official chronicle of American Business activity. Each year's index is divided into two print volumes; one citing company-specific articles, and the other general news stories.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Journals.

Business Periodicals Index: Covers nearly 350 journals in business and economics. Types of journals include general business magazines, financial publications, practitioner journals for accounting and personnel management, and a selection of trade journals.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Journals.

 

(*Please note: research databases are for current students, staff, and faculty at the University of Pittsburgh. If you are at an off-campus computer, you must log in here to be able to use these licensed resources.)

Zoom! | PittCat | Ask Us | Contact Us | Top of Page