|
This is a selective list of business resources available via the
Internet. It includes Internet sites mentioned in the
Doing Business Research at the University of
Pittsburgh pages. (Please use those pages for a complete research
strategy.) This list also includes selected
sites of a practical or reference nature for
students, researchers, consumers, and business people. Sites
with more comprehensive listings of business
resources on the Internet appear in the last section of this list.
This list includes openly available, FREE sites, although some sites may
require registration. Also, some sites provide a limited amount of free
information hoping that you will purchase additional information.
Inclusion in this list as well as the annotations are based solely upon
the FREE information provided. Take advantage of this free information,
and know that much of the information available for a fee may
already be available to you through other library resources.
Many companies have their own sites on the Internet. Check out our Searching for Companies on the World Wide Web
page for tips on finding these sites.
The GSPIA/Economics
Library maintains a web page which includes sources for economics information and statistics as well as foreign trade. No effort is made to duplicate those categories here.
CONTENTS:
Electronic Phonebooks
- Switchboard - Find a
Business by name, category, or location. A Find a Person section is also
available.
- BigBook - Search U.S. and
Canadian yellow pages for companies
by name or category and location.
- AnyWho Directories
- Find a business by name, category, or location. People, Reverse Lookup
(by telephone number), and Toll-Free sections are also available.
Company Information - Profiles
Business and Financial News - Current Newswires and
Headlines
These sites are updated daily or continuously. They are good
sources for determining yesterday's and today's corporate activities as
well as business, financial, and economics related news. Some sites may
provide a short-term archive of articles. See also the Stock Market and Investing section below for
additional sources of up to the minute stock quotes and information.
The Stock Market and Investing
- Yahoo Finance provides current and historic stock quotes.
- Silicon Investor
provides stock quotes for single dates back to 1968 as well as news,
profiles, and charts. Real-time quotes are free with registration.
- MSNInvestor
includes current quotes (20 minute delay), market commentary, company
profiles and charts. Real-time quotes are available if you register for a
Microsoft Passport account.
- StockMaster.com provides
current quotes (20 minute delay) and news for individual stocks, stock
indexes, and mutual funds. Company profiles, charts for up to five years,
and an Investment FAQ are also available.
- Wall Street Research Net consists
of over 500,000 links to help investors perform
fundamental research on actively traded companies, mutual funds, the stock
market, and the economy.
- New York Stock
Exchange official site. NASDAQ/American Stock Exchange official site.
- The Investment FAQ
- Penny
Stocks: A Guide for Beginning Investors from the Missouri Office of
Secretary of State
- Mutual Fund Investor's Center
Industry Information
There are many web sites related to various industries. Those
included here are ones that provide a significant amount of FREE data or
background material useful for an industry research project. Additional
industry related sites can be found using the Additional
Directories of Internet Business Resources below.
The first section consists of sites covering multiple industries. Go to
each site to see which industries are included and what data is available.
The second section consists of key sites related to specific industries.
Some links lead directly to key information pages. Other sites have their
information scattered. Look particularly for links to Industry News, News
Room, Facts and Figures, Economics, Research, etc.
Sites for Specific Industries
- AUTOMOTIVE
- BEVERAGES (including alcoholic)
- COMMUNICATIONS
- CONSTRUCTION AND HOUSING
- FOOD
- METALS AND MINERALS
- RETAIL
- TRAVEL AND TOURISM
Dictionaries
Business Calculators
Consumer Information
- Consumer World
has gathered over 1800 of the most useful consumer resources on the
Internet and categorized them for easy access. You can find
buying advice and product reviews, comparison shop, file a consumer
complaint, read hundreds of consumer rights booklets, find a low rate
credit card or mortgage, get personal finance tips, read news of the
latest scams, research a law, or clip electronic coupons through Consumer
World.
- Better Business Bureau Central -
consumer advice, charity reports, and online complaint forms
- Edmund's Automobile Buyer's
Guides
Small Business Assistance
Guides to Doing Business Research
Additional Directories of Internet Business
Resources
|