Listed below are some of the available directories which cover specific industries. They
often do not have any inclusion criteria based on size, so they may contain some very small
companies which don't appear in the general directories. They are an excellent source for
identifying companies in an industry, and they may also contain an industry overview.
The amount of information contained in these directories will vary. Some may contain only
address and phone number; others will include basic facts or even an extensive profile.
- D&B Directory of Service Companies: Basic facts on over 50,000 public
and private U.S. companies in the service sector including the following lines of business:
accounting, auditing and bookkeeping, advertising and public relations, architecture and
engineering, consumer services, executive search, health, hospitality, management consulting,
motion pictures, repair, research, social services, and law.
HILLMAN LIBRARY -Reference. (HD9981.3 D86) BUSINESS LIBRARY -Reference. (HD9981.3 D86)
- D&B Healthcare Reference Book
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference. (HD9994 U5D86)
- Best's Insurance Reports
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference. (Property and Casualty: HG9655 B561 and Life and Health: HG8943 B561 )
- Standard Directory of Advertising Agencies
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference. (HF5805 S72) BUSINESS LIBRARY -Reference. (HF5805 S72)
- Hoover's Guide to Media Companies: Includes advertising, publishing, film, and broadcasting companies.
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference. (P88.8 H66)
- Hoover's Guide to Computer Companies
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference. (HD9696 C63 U518329)
- Computer Select: One of the Sections in this database is "Computer Company Profiles".
DATABASE: Library Computers only.
- Law Firms Yellow Book
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (KF190 L38)
- Sports Market Place
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (GV563 S7)
- Pennsylvania Technology Directory
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HC107 P43H536)
ENGINEERING LIBRARY - Reference (HC107 P43H536)
- Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
HILLMAN LIBRARY -Reference Desk (HE8689 B77)
- Publishers Directory
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference Desk (Z475 B65)
INFORMATION SCIENCES LIBRARY - Reserve Desk (Z475 B65)
- Publishers, Distributors, and Wholesalers
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference Desk (Z475 P86)
- American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HF5421 A615)
- D&B Consultants Directory: Profiles of over 30,000 of the top consulting firms
in the United States.
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HD69 C6D86)
- Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory
HILLMAN LIBRARY -Reference (HD69 C6C652)
- Food and Beverage Market Place
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HD9003 F578)
- Biotechnology Guide U.S.A.
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HD9999 B443U63)
To find other industry directories, check the following:
- Use PITTCat+ to find other directories in Pitt's library collections. Perform a search on the name of the industry adding the word "directories".
- Directories in Print
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (Z5771 D57)
- International Business and Trade Directories
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference. (Z7164.C81 I57)
- Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference.(HF5351 E52)
- INFORMATION SCIENCES LIBRARY - Reference (HF5351 E52)
GSPIA/ECONOMICS LIBRARY - Reference. (HF5351 E52)