www.pitt.edu
ULS HomeZoom!PittCatAsk Us

 Company Histories



  • Start your company history research with the research database Business and Company Resource Center. This database draws its information from print sources such as the International Directory of Company Histories and Notable Corporate Chronologies. These are the key sources for company histories.

  • Read a company's annual report or visit their website to see if a history is included. (Note that these company histories are produced by the company itself. Always take this perspective into account when evaluating the information.)

  • Search for books that contain corporate histories. Books about a company often include historical background. Do a keyword search in PITTCat to find any books in the University of Pittsburgh libraries which cover your company's history.

  • Use Global Books In Print or WorldCat to identify books outside of the ULS. You can request these books through Requests From Other Libraries.

  • Search for articles in business and trade magazines or journals. Sometimes major news event articles will provide a brief company history.


Research databases* that provide company histories

(*Please note: research databases are for current students, staff, and faculty at the University of Pittsburgh. If you are at an off-campus computer, you must log in here to be able to use these licensed resources.)

Business and Company Resource Center Contains company profiles, histories, and chronologies. There is a tabbed section devoted to company histories.

 

Mergent Online (formerly FIS online) Financials for 15 years are "as reported" and can be downloaded as Excel spreadsheets. Annual reports, where available, begin with 1997. Fact sheets (updated quarterly) giving a company overview, ratios, and prospects are available for 2,000 U.S. companies.

National Newspapers: Provides full text access to the Wall Street Journal, among other major newspapers

Print sources that provide company histories

Mergent / Moody's Manuals: This multi-volume set includes a brief history in each entry. Some histories, however, are extremely brief. Public companies only.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HG4961 M67)
Please Note: Mergent Online (formerly FIS Online) contains selected Moody's manuals. Historical Issues of the Moody's Manuals are available back to 1920. These volumes are an excellent resource for historical facts and figures, and are located in our storage facility. Please ask a librarian for assistance.

International Directory of Company Histories: Provides extensive histories on over 6,850 companies. Most companies included have a minimum of $25 million in annual sales and are leading influences in their industries or geographical locations. Most are public companies, but some private and non-profit corporations are included. Use the cumulative index in the latest volume available to see if your company is profiled or mentioned anywhere in the series.

BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference (HD2721 I63)
HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HD2721 I63)

Please Note: this content is available in Business and Company Resource Center

Notable Corporate Chronologies: A collection of chronologies for over 1,500 corporations. Each timeline lists and briefly describes 30 or more key dates that mark major events in a corporation's life story. Included are dates for founding, major product introductions, tenures of pivotal executives, major scandals, mergers and acquisitions, and major stock offerings.

HILLMAN LIBRARY - Reference (HG4009 .N68)

Please Note: this content is available in Business and Company Resource Center

 

Capital Changes Report: Lists key events in the history of a corporation's stock.

BUSINESS LIBRARY - Reference
 

F & S Index : An index to articles in many business and trade magazines. The print version of this index is arranged such that you can look up a company's name and obtain a list of all reported events and activities of that company for a given year.
BUSINESS LIBRARY - Journals (1990- )
 

Wall Street Journal Index : An index to articles in The Wall Street Journal. This index is arranged such that you can look up a company's name and obtain a list of all reported events and activities of that company for a given year. Issues back to  1970 are available.
BUSINESS LIBRARY – Journals
 

(*Please note: research databases are for current students, staff, and faculty at the University of Pittsburgh. If you are at an off-campus computer, you must log in here to be able to use these licensed resources.)

Zoom! | PittCat | Ask Us | Contact Us | Top of Page