www.pitt.edu
ULS HomeZoom!PittCatAsk Us

International Business and Company Information



Research Databases

Free Online Resources - Companies and Industries

Free Online Resources - Culture and Etiquette

Books

Other related research guides

Research Databases*

(*Please note: research databases are restricted to current students, staff, and faculty at the University of Pittsburgh. If you are using an off-campus computer, you must log in here in order to access these licensed resources.)

Business Source Premier*

Articles on business conditions, industrial relations, foreign investments, country-specific industry profiles, and country reports that provide an overview of the investment strategies and policies, as well as the political, economic, and social environment. If interested in etiquette and social norms, try searching with the phrase "cultural differences"

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)*

Country finance section includes information on taxation, financing, banking, foreign exchange regulations. Also includes a regional weekly/bi-weekly business briefings on the latest conditions.

Global Market Information Database (GMID)*

Provides country reports, including market research data and forecasts. Also allows you to generate customized spreadsheets on demographics, consumer behavior, and industries worldwide.

Stat-USA/Globus NTDB*

Contains Country Commercial Guides, Market Research Library, International Market Insight Reports (IMI), and International Trade Library


Free Online Resources - Companies and Industries

CIA World FactBookOnline

Provides quick reference about a country, such as population, currency, major industries, GDP, unemployment, inflation rate, imports/exports. Published annually. https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

Country Profiles and territory profiles from BBC News

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/country_profiles/default.stm

Country briefings from economist.com

Includes forecasts, country factsheets, and economic data.http://www.economist.com/countries/

Global Edge – Michigan State University

In the country insights section, provides country economic statistics and risk assesment. http://globaledge.msu.edu/

The Federation of International Trade Associations

Note their country profiles on the left. Their list of "really useful links" will help you find websites devoted to specific regions, topics such as international market research,  International franchising, and more.  http://fita.org

International Tax and Business Guides from Deloitte

http://www.deloitte.com/dtt/section_node/0,2332,sid%253D11410,00.html

International Tax and Business information from PriceWaterhouseCoopers

http://www.pwc.com/extweb/aboutus.nsf/docid/A542F2383D494EC280257096003762E7

Resources from the World Bank 

Select a country, then browse by topic. Topics include oil and gas, private sector development, finance, etc.

http://web.worldbank.org/WBSITE/EXTERNAL/COUNTRIES/0,,menuPK:3030988~pagePK:180619~piPK:3001866~theSitePK:136917,00.html

Business Planet: Mapping the Business Environment

http://rru.worldbank.org/businessplanet/

A collection of World Bank Reports on doing business in various countries

Information on taxes, contracts, construction permits, property registration, etc.

http://www.doingbusiness.org/DOWNLOADS/

Free Online Resources - Culture and Etiquette

Executive Planet

Negotiating tips, entertainment, appointment etiquette, and more.

http://www.executiveplanet.com/index.php?title=Main_Page

Geert Hofstede™ Cultural Dimensions

Compare your home culture with your host culture on Hofstede's 5 cultural dimensions.

http://www.geert-hofstede.com/

The International Business and Ettiquette Sourcebook

Produced by Agriculture and Agra-Foods Canada

http://www.ats.agr.gc.ca/export/4027_e.htm


Books

Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: the bestselling guide to doing business in more than 60 countries

BUSSINESS LIBRARY  (HC5389 M67 2006)

HILLMAN LIBRARY - General Collection (HF5389.3.L3 M67 2007)

Kiss, bow, or shake hands : Asia : how to do business in 12 Asian countries

HILLMAN LIBRARY - General Collection (HF 5389 M667 2007)

Kiss, bow, or shake hands : Europe : how to do business in 25 European countries

HILLMAN LIBRARY - General Collection (HF 5389 M67 2007)

Also search by keyword in PittCat+, the library catalog.

On the keyword search page, combine a country name, such as "China" with these phrases:

"business etiquette"

"business travel"

"commerce"

"corporate culture"

"capital market"

"finance"

"international business"


Other related research guides

University of Pennsylvania, Business Library has created guides to doing business in specific regions and countries, including Asia, China, Japan, Latin America, Middle East, North Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa.

http://gethelp.library.upenn.edu/guides/business/rguides.html

Harvard Business School , Baker Library

http://www.library.hbs.edu/guides/ (scroll down to see their country guides)


Emory University, Gozueta Business Library

http://business.library.emory.edu/info/global_perspectives/index.html


Questions? Ask A Librarian

(Back to Business Research Guide Homepage)

 

(*Please note: research databases are restricted to current students, staff, and faculty at the University of Pittsburgh. If you are using an off-campus computer, you must log in here in order to access these licensed resources.)

 

Zoom! | PittCat | Ask Us | Contact Us | Top of Page