User Guides

Other Ways to Get Assistance ...

 

If you need help finding articles, books, a fact, or help with getting started with a paper or project, we can help! See our Reference/Assistance page for information on the many ways to get in touch with us.

Guides to Using Specific Products
Guides to Researching Topics
Technical Guides
Citing Sources

Guides to Using Specific Products

 

PITTCat- Author/Title/Subject (PDF)

PITTCat- Keyword Searching (PDF)

PITTCat- Guide to Searching in Pinyin in PITTCat (PDF)

Using ZOOM! to Find Books and Articles

Evaluating Web Information: Surfing the Cyber Library

AccessUN (PDF)

American FactFinder- Quick Tips(PDF)

CCH Internet Tax Research Network (PDF)

Digital Dissertations (PDF)

Early English Books Online (PDF)

Early English Books on Microfilm (PDF)

Landmarks of Science I and Landmarks II (PDF)

MLA: How to Use the MLA International Bibliography

netLibrary Quickstart Guide (PDF)

Social Work Abstracts (PDF)

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (Marcive WebDOCS)

 

Guides to Researching Topics

 

African American Resources
Covering Pre-Civil War to 1900 in Hillman Library Microforms Area (PDF)

Alliance College Polish Collection (PDF)

American Literary Criticism (PDF)

Archives: Electronic Finding Aids for Selected Collections (link to online guides to several hundred archival collections). See also guides to archival material by topic below.

Archives: African-Americans in Western Pennsylvania (PDF)

Archives: Church Records (PDF)

Archives: Environmental Resources (PDF)

Archives: Family-History Resources (PDF)

Archives: Germans and German-Americans (Archives Material) (PDF)

Archives: Greeks and Greek-Americans (PDF)

Archives: Italians and Italian-Americans (PDF)

Archives: Jewish Culture and Life (PDF)

Archives: Media Resources at the Archives Service Center (PDF)

Archives: Pittsburgh and Beyond: The Experience of the Jewish Community ( National Council of Jewish Women) (PDF)

Archives: Pittsburgh History and Architecture (PDF)

Archives: Poles, Poland, and Polish-Americans (Archives Material) (PDF)

Archives: Women, Selected Resources By and About (PDF)

Art History: Artists' Books(PDF)

Art History: Art & Architectural History Journals: Electronic Full Text(PDF)

Art History: Art Directories(PDF)

Art History: Artists' Biographies (PDF)

Art History: Basic Sources in Art History (PDF)

Art History: Caravaggio (PDF)

Art History: Carnegie Institute: History, Architecture, Collections (PDF)

Art History: Carnegie International (PDF)

Art History: Contemporary Art (PDF)

Art History: Contemporary Art (PDF)

Art History: The Frick Art & Historical Center (PDF)

Art History: International Art Exhibitions (PDF)

Art History: Library of Congress Classification: N (PDF)

Art History: Researching a Monument of Asian Art (PDF)

Art History: Pittsburgh Art, Artists and Collections (PDF)

Art History: Resources on Women and Art (PDF)

Art History: Visual Resources (PDF)

Finding Book Reviews (PDF)

Finding Books on the Shelf

Business Research at the University of Pittsburgh

Critical Theory: A Guide to Finding Materials in the University Library System (PDF)

Database Searching

Debate Topics: The Opposing Viewpoint Series (PDF)

Drama and Theater Arts: A Guide to Selected Resources in the University Library System (PDF)

Engineering Research at the University of Pittsburgh

Film Studies: A Guide to Finding Materials in the University Library System (PDF)

Jewish Studies Research

Government Information: Census 2000 Guide

Government Information: Census Tracts for City of Pittsburgh by Neighborhood: 1990 and 2000

Government Information: Federal Population Census Schedules, 1790-1930, available in Hillman Library Microforms (PDF)

Government Information: How to Find Government Information at the University of Pittsburgh

Government Information: How to Find U.S. Government Publications (PDF)

Government Information: Using the U.S. Government Publications
Call Number System (SuDocs) (PDF)

Government Information: Locating Bills and Other Congressional and Legislative Material

Government Information: Tax Forms (Finding Aid)

Grants, Scholarships, & Fellowships (PDF)

Hillman Library Floor Plans (PDF)

Holocaust Pathfinder (PDF)

Library Science: Annotated Bibliographies (PDF)

Library Science: Annotated Bibliography (PDF)

Library Science: Accessing Other Collections (PDF)

Library Science: Citing Sources (PDF)

Library Science: Citing Sources Web and Print Guides (PDF)

Library Science Database Comparison

Library Science: Primary Resources for Historical Research (PDF)

Library Science: Scholarly Information (PDF)

Library Science: Search Engine Resources (PDF)

Library Science: Search Engines and Internet Directories (PDF)

Library Science: Themes of Social Justice in Children's Literature

Library Science: Web Evaluation Skills and Techniques (PDF)

Local Newspapers: 1780-1999 (PDF)

Middle East History (PDF)

Non-print Resources in ULS Libraries (PDF)

Nonprofits

Online Newspaper Collections: 18th and 19th Centuries (PDF)

Outline of Library of Congress Classifications

Pittsburgh History and Architecture (PDF)

Constructing Effective Search Statements (PDF)

Style Manuals

United Nations: Databases for United Nations Materials (PDF)

United Nations: Finding UN Publications on the Shelf (PDF)

United Nations: Search Tools and Indexes (PDF)

Technical Guides

Connecting to PITTCat Using Z39.50

Instructions for Connecting from Off Campus