University of Pittsburgh | Ask-A-Librarian | Contact Us | PITTCat  

      

Pitt Digital Library


Home
Find Articles & More
Libraries
Services
University Library System


  

Library Science Database Comparison

Library Science Database Comparison

DATABASE NAME

LISA

ISA

ERIC

Library Literature

Availability

Networked

Networked

Networked

CD-ROM

Information Sciences Lib.

Interface

SilverPlatter

SilverPlatter

SilverPlatter

EBSCOhost

WinSPIRS

Date Coverage

1969-

1966-

1966-

1984-

Update Frequency

Quarterly

Quarterly

Monthly

Quarterly

Number of journals

550

450

750

234

Geog. Coverage Significance

60 countries

International

U.S. / Education

International

TEXT LEVEL

       

Citations

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Abstracts

Yes

Yes

Yes

NO

Full Text

No

No

850 Digest Records

No

Images

No

No

No

No

Content

Tips & Comments

 

Research in progress in the Current Research in Library and

Information Science (CRLIS) database subset

Lib Sci records from ERIC; conference proceedings

Research & technical reports as well as education related journal articles

Library School theses, pamphlets, and conference proceedings

SEARCHING

       

Display Options

Change Display button, extensive options

Change Display button, extensive options

Change Display button, extensive options

Switch to all fields (button at bottom)

Boolean Operators

And, Or, Not

And, Or, Not

And, Or, Not

And, Or, Not

Truncation & Wildcard Symbols

* for stemming

? one character

* for stemming

? one character

* for stemming

? one character

* for stemming

? one character

Proximity Operators

near# in same sentence

with# in same field

near# in same sentence

with# in same field

near# in same sentence

with# in same field

near# in same sentence

with# in same field

Phrase Searching

Is the default No " " needed

Is the default No " " needed

Is the default

No " " needed.

Is the default

No " " needed

Natural Language Searching

No

No

No

No

Field searching/

limiting

Yes, in Search & Search Builder

Yes, in Search & Search Builder

Yes, in Search & Search Builder

Yes, limit button or Utilities, Field List

 

Database Name

LISA

ISA

ERIC

Library Literature

Controlled Vocabulary

Index, Thesaurus, descriptors

Index, descriptors,

subject classification

Index, Thesaurus, descriptors,

identifiers

Index, descriptors

Basic/Advanced

Search/Search Builder

Search/Search Builder

Search/Search Builder

No

Help Available

Yes. See Database Info. button on frame index

Yes. See

Database Info. button on frame index

Yes. See

Database Info. button on frame index

Help on menubar,

select Guide and then Library Literature

Searching tips/comments

 

 

Can save searches using "Save History.".

Can save searches using "Save History."

Can save searches using "Save History."

Read guide for information about useful fields such as target audience & document type.

Use hyphens to narrow descriptor search. See Guide for explanation of Add to Search feature, lateral searching, save search histories

COPYING

       

Printing

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Downloading

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Emailing

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Notes

 

Full-Text

The full-text of approximately 50-60 library science journals is available through Periodical Abstracts. (Follow the link in the blue box on the Library's homepage to "Indexes to Articles & Publications.")

 

ERIC Clearinghouses on the Internet

http://www.accesseric.org/sites/barak.html#1

ERIC, the Educational Resources Information Center is a national information system designed to provide ready access to an extensive body of education-related literature. Among other services, 16 subject-specific clearinghouses produce special publications on current research, programs, and practices. Many of these publications are available full-text on their web sites. From http://www.accesseric.org/sites/barak.html#1 you can follow links to the individual clearinghouse web sites.

dpm/1-00

Home | Univ. of Pittsburgh | Ask-A-Librarian | Contact Us | PITTCat | Top of Page